Thirsty For Romance Thursday Bargains, Freebies & Reviews


A Review Re-Cap of a

Previously Reviewed

Dragon Shifter Romance

Currently FREE



Brothers of Ash and Fire #2

by Lauren Smith

File Size: 5583 KB

Print Length: 254 pages

Publication Date: January 10, 2018

Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC

Language: English


Digital List Price: $3.99

FREE For a Limited Time at:


Publisher’s Description:

A dragon never leaves his hoard unguarded. His heart is another matter.

The second eldest in an ancient line of Russian dragon shifters, Mikhail Barinov had one job: protect one of the family hoard of jewels. Distracted by the English virgin queen Elizabeth, who was as dazzling as she was devious; he lost everything. Five centuries of exile later, news that a construction crew has unearthed a massive trove of gold and jewels sends him racing to London, determined to steal back his family’s treasure…and his honor.

Professional gemologist Piper Linwood can’t wait to bury herself in her newest project, evaluating a hoard of Elizabethan-era treasure. But both her life and career are threatened when a mysterious, brooding man with a dangerous smile—and an even more dangerous kiss—snatches the lot.

Unwillingly swept along for the ride, Piper discovers Mikhail is no mere thief. And the dragon on his back is more than a tattoo. It’s a living, breathing extension of a bad boy she’s finding harder and harder to resist. But his heart is a treasure she can never own…because to save her career, she’ll have to betray his trust.

My Thoughts:

Reviewed on Goodreads, Dec 18, 2017

Although I don’t read much paranormal or shifter romance I have read both books so far in this series and look forward to reading book #3, Rurik.

After reading book #1, I thought Lauren’s imagination could not possibly extend to making this a three book series. Well so far, so good.
We don’t get as much description of Mikhail as we did Grigori, but we do find his tattoo an ingenious addition. I became so absorbed with this book that I found it difficult to put down.
Although I feel each book could be read as a standalone, I think you should read them all in order to get full enjoyment of this wonderfully imaginative series.
I gave this book 4.75 of 5.0 stars for storyline and character development and a high sensual rating of 4.5 of 5 flames. We’re not talking graphic sex, but some of the love scenes are really heated in nature, so be prepared to swoon.
I received a complimentary digital ARC of this title from the author and her publisher to read. This in no way affected my opinion of this book which I read and reviewed voluntarily.

This Series:

  • Grigori (Brothers of Ash and Fire #1)
  • Mikhail (Brothers of Ash and Fire #2)
  • Rurik (Brothers of Ash and Fire #3)
  • The Lost Barinov Dragon (Brothers of Ash and Fire #4, coming soon) 

About The Author:


USA TODAY Bestselling author LAUREN SMITH is an Oklahoma attorney by day, who pens adventurous and edgy romance stories by the light of her smart phone flashlight app.

She knew she was destined to be a romance writer when she attempted to re-write the entire Titanic movie just to save Jack from drowning. Connecting with readers by writing emotionally moving, realistic and sexy romances no matter what time period is her passion.

She’s won multiple awards in several romance subgenres including:
  • New England Reader’s Choice Awards
  • Greater Detroit BookSeller’s Best Awards
  • Breakthrough Novel Award Quarter-Finalist
  • Semi-Finalist for the Mary Wollstonecraft Shelley Award.

To connect with Lauren, visit her at or twitter at @LSmithAuthor.

Want THREE FREE romances of different genres? Join Lauren’s VIP readers group and start reading today!
Sign up and start reading today here:


2018 Rone Awards Nominee

In Fantasy Catagory

Garden of Light


Dark Gardens Series Book 2

by Meara Platt

File Size: 2585 KB

Print Length: 307 pages

Page Numbers Source ISBN: 1542681294

Publisher: Dragonblade Publishing, Inc.

Publication Date: February 1, 2017, 1st edition

Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC

Language: English


Purchase Now For $2.99 at:


or Read FREE With


Publisher’s Description:

As battle looms between the Fae kingdoms and the powerful underworld demons known as Dragon Lords in England’s quiet Lake District, the Fae king, Cadeyrn, returns to the vicarage of St. Lodore’s where magical bluebell gardens serve as portals to the faerie world and the ominous red mountain known as Friar’s Crag becomes the battleground for Fae, Dragon Lords and mortals. Cadeyrn is desperate to find the right mortal girl who will save the Fae, for she is destined to love him and die a fiery death for that love, as foretold in the ancient Draloch prophecy. All seems lost, for the only girl who can see him is Melody Hargreaves, a very unwarrior-like young woman who has never fought dragons. How can she possibly be The One?

Melody is being courted by a wealthy lord who seems to adore her and is about to propose marriage, but she feels the powerful magic of her surroundings and is drawn to the world of the Fae and its handsome king. As Bloodaxe, one of the evil Dragon Lords, advances with his demon army, Melody must decide between a safe, comfortable life with the wealthy lord or dying a fiery death at the hands of the Dragon Lords. Melody’s heart belongs to Cadeyrn, and choosing wealth and comfort no longer seems the obvious choice. Cadeyrn has also fallen in love with Melody. How can he change the course of destiny and save her as well as his Fae subjects?

Garden of ShadowsDark Gardens Series Book 1


Garden of Shadows


Dark Gardens Series Book 1

by Meara Platt

File Size: 2480 KB

Print Length: 264 pages

Page Numbers Source ISBN: 1540506215

Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited

Publisher: Dragonblade Publishing, Inc.

Publication Date: December 6, 2016; 1st edition

Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC

Language: English


Purchase Now For $0.99 at:


or Read FREE With




Publisher’s Description:

Danger lurks for Julia Marsden, the daughter of the late vicar of St. Lodore’s Church in the quiet village of Borrowdale.

Julia doesn’t believe in faeries or magic or dreams coming true, but odd things have been happening at the vicarage lately that cannot be explained.


Her orphaned cousin, Charlie, believes in mythical creatures and claims that faeries now inhabit the vicarage’s bluebell garden. The boy also claims the faerie king, Cadeyrn, has promised to make him a prince in his kingdom and teach crippled Charlie to walk again if he will cross into the Fae realm.

As the faerie king’s influence on the boy grows stronger, another threat emerges from the boy’s uncle – Douglas Hawke, the Earl of Eastbourne, who has come to wrench him from Julia’s guardianship. Julia is determined to fight both men, but as she and the boy begin to fall under the spell of the faerie king, Julia realizes that only her love for Douglas can save them.

But is Douglas capable of loving her, even at the cost of his own life?

Proudly Reviewing ARCs Through  NetGalley Since 2014


I also Review Books & ARCs Through The Following:


Hidden Gems logo

and For Individual Authors by Request

author's palButton_Basic


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: