Wonderful Wednesday Bargains, Freebies & Reviews


reviews_200_120  pro_reader_120  eighty_percent_feedback_ratio_120  netgalley_challenge_2016_gold_120  favorited_reviews_120


Wagging through the Snow


A Melanie Travis Mystery

by Laurien Berenson

First published: Sep 26, 2017

Genres: Detective · Fiction – Mystery

Publisher: Kensington

Publication Date: September 26, 2017

Sold by: Penguin Random House Publisher Services

Language: English

Available Editions:

Hardcover: Prices Vary

E-Book: $9.99

File Size: 566 KB

Print Length: 224 pages

ISBN: 9781496712981


Available Now at:


Publisher’s Description:

“If you like dogs, you’ll love Laurien Berenson’s Melanie Travis mysteries!” —Joanne Fluke, New York Times bestselling author

Melanie Travis needs a little peace from her busy life this Christmas. But the usual holiday hubbub is a joy compared to the killer surprise she finds tucked underneath the tree . . .
  With a demanding teaching job at Connecticut’s elite Howard Academy and five poodles scampering around the house, Melanie barely has energy for the upcoming Christmas rush. But she unwraps an unexpected challenge when her brother and ex-husband, elated by the recent success of their country café, make a spontaneous bid on a dilapidated pine tree farm. Although the ten-acre lot had been a popular seasonal destination while the original owner was still alive, it’ll take some sprucing up—and a small miracle or two—before the neglected place is in shape for December.
  Unfortunately, the impromptu business venture goes cold when the group discovers a purebred Maltese whimpering in the snow-covered grove—right beside a dead body. Pete, a squatter who camped out on the land, apparently met his end after a fallen fir tree branch knocked him on the head. But as Melanie and Aunt Peg investigate Pete’s history and the terrible habit that cost him everything, it’s clear his death was no accident. Now, Melanie must run through a flurry of likely suspects and muzzle a dogged murderer in time—or she’ll be next on someone’s deadly list.

My Thoughts:

I happily read this intriguingly comical mystery. It has been years since I read A “Pedigree to Die For” and the others of the first five novels in this series. I was showing dogs at the time and poodles was my breed of choice. The first book in the series “A Pedigree to Die For” with poodles on the cover and a murder and a dog show as the backdrop made this book and the subsequent titles of interest to me.
Since mysteries are not my genre of choice I had drifted away from this author but was thrilled to see a new one listed on NetGalley.
This book has all of the qualities expected from this reader of books from this author.
There is intrigue, mystery and a bit of humor thrown in for good measure. If your taste in books runs toward a cleanly written and teen friendly mystery you will love this book.
Get ready for the Christmas season with this newest Laurien Berenson, Melanie Travis Mystery. You won’t be disappointed.
I gave this book 4.5 of 5.0 stars for storyline and character development. The expected inclusion of many happy and healthy characters of the canine variety is as always a bonus in this Christmas Mystery.
I received a complimentary digital ARC of this lovely short read, from the publisher, via NetGalley. This in no way affected my opinion of this book which I read and reviewed voluntarily.

Temporary Arrangement



The Renaldis

by Karen Erickson 

Length: 67 Pages

Digital List Price: $0.99

FREE For a Limited Time at:


Google Play Buttonibooks-buy2kobo-button2

From USA Today Bestselling Author Karen Erickson comes THE RENALDIS series!

Look, but don’t touch…

Matteo Renaldi may have lost his wife, but he takes care of his son.

That’s why he fired the nanny. And the one before that. No one is good enough.

Until Paige Stewart arrives like a miracle, winning first his mother and then little Matty over. And Matteo can’t deny he’s quite taken with her as well.

He can’t stop looking at the sweet and sexy new hire, but every time he does he reminds himself all over again why he can’t have her.

She’s the nanny.

It’s foolish.

He signs her paychecks.

It’s forbidden.

She’s too young.

It’s inevitable.

So I Married a Highlander


What Happens In Scotland Book 1

by Kate McKinley

Digital List Price: $2.99

FREE For a Limited Time at:



Publisher’s Description:

A Lady’s Rules of Etiquette When Eloping:

1. A lady should never leave a note behind explaining her intentions.

2. If by chance a note has been left behind, a lady must prepare to be hunted down and the ceremony thwarted.

3. In such a case, seeking consolation with a night of excessive drinking will be tempting, but ill advised.

4. And lastly, a lady must never, under any
circumstances, wake up manacled to a deliciously handsome Highlander.

Lady Evelyn Alexander has managed to break all four rules in the space of an evening—and the tall, virile Highlander she accidentally married is only the beginning. Her fiancé has also mysteriously gone missing and the threat of scandal is hot on their heels…

Alec McAllister has no use for a wife, but when he wakes up entwined with the lovely and spirited Evelyn, he’s willing to reconsider. He’ll help her find her fiancé, but when the passions ignite between them, it’s only a matter of time before the Highlander claims what’s his…

A Heart for the Taking


The Reluctant Brides Series

by Shirlee Busbee

$0.99 For a Limited Time at:

amazon-buy2b-n-buy2Google Play Button


Publisher’s Description:

In Colonial Virginia, Chance Walker still blames his cousin Jonathan for his own wife’s untimely death. So when Jonathan returns from England with the widowed Lady Fancy Merrivale, Chance sees an opportunity to strike back: he’ll woo the beautiful Lady.

But revenge turns bittersweet as Chance falls hopelessly in love with Fancy, and she with him, while a shadowy enemy intent on claiming Chance’s family inheritance puts Fancy in his sights.

One of the best romance writers of our time.“ ~Affaire de Coeur

THE RELUCTANT BRIDES, in series order

  1. A Heart for the Taking
  2. Swear by Moonlight
  3. While Passion Sleeps

THE SOUTHERN WOMEN, in series order

  1. The Tiger Lily
  2. Each Time We Love
  3. At Long Last
  4. Love a Dark Rider

THE LOUISIANA LADIES, in series order

  1. Deceive Not My Heart
  2. Midnight Masquerade
  3. Love Be Mine

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s